Off the subject

Well this is spring break so I am not going to post about school except in passing. It certainly doesn’t feel like spring break. After a tantalizing day in the 40s we are back down in the 20s and 30s. The snow is slowly melting but I am still wondering if spring will really arrive. But there are signs spring may actually arrive sometime in the future. Just not sure how far in the future that is. šŸ™‚ Like I said the snow is slowly melting and the birds are actually singing. I have heard the cardinals, chickadees and sparrows all singing away. But it is still that in between stage. The snow is only half the height it use to be but the dirty snow is more apparent. And patches of grass are showing up but the ground is still pretty frozen. Not quite winter but not quite a spring day either. Guess I am just impatient for it to get warmer. We are still running about 10 degrees below average. I think after this winter I am more tired of the cold then the snow.This has been one of the colder winters on record. If we have to go through that much misery we should set a record for something. ha ha
Ahh but thinking about spring makes me think about birding and photography.
I am a member of the Horicon Marsh Bird Festival committee. The festival is the oldest bird festival in Wisconsin. We are working on our 17th year (if I have counted them right). I have been on the committee for over 10 years and have enjoyed it. I am in charge of selling of the hats, pins, t-shirts and am information central. I have to order the hats, t-shirts and sweatshirts each year. We put a different bird on the pins, t-shirts and sweatshirts each year. So when it comes time to order them I know spring isn’t to far away. The festival happens Mother’s Day weekend each May and we have to order the t-shirts in early March so we get them in time. I have a blast at the festival cause I get to meet people from all over the country as well as the world. I have met people from California, NY, TX and from all over the Midwest as well as England, Germany, Scotland and a guide from Mt Kilimanjaro. And I get to share the marsh I love with the visitors and talk birds. Great time for all.
I am hoping it is warm enough later on this week so I can go out and do some birding. I love getting out and around the Horicon Marsh. I will also have some time to do a bit of cooking. Haven’t had much time during the semester since I was busy going to class or doing homework. Especially the first few weeks when I was trying to get back into the swing of things.
I also want to do some photography. I have been so busy with school I haven’t had a chance to get out since the first of the year. It’s like going thru withdrawal. (I quit smoking about 17 years ago so I remember what that is like). Even if all I end up doing is taking a long drive and just seeing acouple of birds it will be out of the house. Just getting out and about in nature recharges my mental batteries and makes me feel good. And it relieves all the built up tension. Can’t wait till it is warm enough so I can open my windows and let a gentle warm breeze flow through the house again.

Leave a Reply

