The end is in sight


The end of an era, end of the line, end of the road and the end of that dam road.
I started this blog talking about my returning to college at the age of 52. I had a pretty steep learning curve that first semester and had some funny posts about it. The last time I went to college the internet didn’t exist and I was faced with e-college, drop boxes, laptops, tablets and computer technology. I quickly learned to navigate all the ones I hadn’t used before. I attended summer classes and night classes, did classes online and in person. Have had some really great professors and some not so great. Some classes I breezed through and others I had to work hard on. I graduated from Moraine Park Technical College a year and a half after starting and came in with a 4.0 GPA. Surprised me.
After graduating from Moraine Park I started with Upper Iowa University (UIU) to complete my Bachelor’s degree and faced a new challenge. Other then one class I would take in person all my other classes would be online. The first summer term, terms are only 8 weeks long, I took one class in person. I had to drive an hour to class once a week but it was worth it. Just over one year later I have started my final term at UIU. I am scheduled to graduate at the end of this term in mid Oct. OMG!
When I started this journey it looked like it would take me almost 3 years and that seemed like such a looooooong journey but I took a deep breath and put my foot on that path. Now I can see the end of that path. And in the process I have been able to maintain a 3.93 GPA, I got a B+ in one class. I have made the Dean’s List at Moraine Park and at UIU almost every semester I attended. I am still amazed at what I have accomplished. Alot of my family and friends are also proud, supporting and inspired by my journey.
After I graduate I plan on taking a week off to just RELAX and catch up with some household jobs that I have put off. Like trimming my front bushes as my front porch is starting to disappear behind them. Then begins the next step and that is job hunting.
Just have to get through this last term. I am taking three classes, microeconomics, Health planning and evaluation and strategic management. I have to buckle down and just do it. This first week of the term I am mentally bouncing around so am not buckling down the way I should. Deep breath and now get back to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

