end of this journey and the start of the next

P1000530 I first started this blog to document my journey as a returning college student. Going back to college at the age of 52 was abit unnerving. Did I still have what it takes? Could I adjust to the new method of teaching, online? What would it be like to have teachers who are younger then me? Well I learned after the first semester that, yes I still have what it takes and this style of learning works even better for me. I did have some learning challenges, see my early posts. But I approached those challenges with a sense of humor and my patience and I worked through the challenge.

the final bite I attended Moraine Park Technical College since it was right here in my town. I was able to take the traditional class format to get me back into the swing of college. Then I added online classes into the mix as well as accelerated classes. Each step came with it’s own challenges but I worked through them. Creating game plans, schedules and using lists I was able to keep track of classwork, due dates and outside events. There were weeks were I didn’t know if I was coming or going. You would put your head down and just start plowing through your work. Then one day you lift up your head and you realize you are halfway through the semester.And I realized I hadn’t bitten off more then I can chew. But I graduated after 1 1/2 years with an Associate’s Degree and a 4.0 GPA.

end of the line I then turned around and started at Upper Iowa University. They work well with Vets and since I am one it was great to have them helping me complete my degree. Other then one class I did my entire program online. This created it’s own challenges but I met those challenges and won. Then to top it all off I decided in my last two terms I added an extra class. Each term at UIU is only 8 weeks long and you only have two breaks the entire year, Christmas and spring breaks, otherwise I was going full steam ahead. And in it seemed in no time I had reached the end of the line. I had two classes where I pulled a B but the rest of my classes I pulled all A’s.

crane dance 1 As of this past Monday I am now a college graduate. I earned my Bachelor’s Degree in Health Services Administration. I did it, Happy Dance!!!

photoclub taking pics of each other
photoclub taking pics of each other
My blog changed from posting about returning to college to my photography. Now that I am done with school maybe I can now find the time to get out and get some more photography done. I haven’t been able to get out and do alot of photography over the past 2 1/2 years while I was in school. The class assignments and demands took over my life. 🙂 But it was well worth it.

SONY DSC
SONY DSC
Take off. This college journey may be over but the next adventure begins. I now am out to find my job. I am learning to grow in this new environment.
SONY DSC
SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

